Political Structure 

You Are Here: Home / Information Main / Political Structure

Head of State  Government  Legislation  I  Courts  I Political Parties  Voting  Administration  Military Forces  Military Service

More Information On Politics


Political Parties

Represented in the National Assembly



Justice and Welfare Party


Republican People Party


True Path Party

 NOT Represented in the National Assembly


Lightening Turkey Party


Motherland Party


Great Unity Party


Democrat Turkey Party


Democratic Left Party


Workers Party


Liberal Democrat Party


Nation Party


Nationalist Movement Party


Freedom and Support Party


Socialist Workers Party


Prosperity Party

Civilian Public Foundations
Foreign Policy of Turkey

 Turkish Flag


Political Structure of Turkey

Form of Government :

Presidential Democratic Republic

Head of the State

President elected by the National Assembly for a 7 year term . The president supervises the state departments, and the whole procedure of the Constitution. Among his duties are publishing and returning laws to parliament for revision, deciding the renewal of elections and appointing the prime minister. 

President (2001) :

Mr Necdet Sezer

Head of the Government

Prime Minister elected by people for every 5 years. 

Government/Cabinet :

The Cabinet which is politically responsible to the Legislature is composed of the Prime Minister and the ministers (32). After the general elections, the leader of the party winning the majority is appointed as the Prime minister by the President. The ministers are selected by the Prime Minister but again appointed by the President. In addition to 15 state ministers, the government is formed of the following ministries; Justice, National Defense, Finance and Customs, National Education, Public Works and Housing, Health, Transport, Agriculture and Rural Affairs, Labor and Social Security, Industry and Commerce, Energy and Natural Resources, Culture, Tourism, Forestry, the Environment, Home and Foreign Affairs

Government (2003) :

One Party Government : Adalet ve Kalkınma Partisi (AK) - Justice and Welfare Party

Prime Minister (2003): 

Mr Abdullah Gül (AKP)

Constitution : 

7 November 1982


National Assembly ( 550 members ) Selected by the nation/people from 81 provinces. The Turkish grand National Assembly was first empowered to exercise legislative power in Ankara on April 23, 1920, by Mustafa Kemal. The duties of the TGNA include enacting and amending laws, monitoring the actions of the Cabinet and Ministers, debating the budget, ratifying international agreements and declaring a war. Anybody above the age of 30, who has minimum primary school education and who has security clearance can be elected as a deputy. The deputies represent not only the regions in which they were elected but the whole Nation. One third of the Assembly is enough to hold a session. The decisions are taken by an absolute majority vote of those present. UP


Constitutional Court, Supreme Court. UP

Political Parties (2001) :

In The Assembly : Adalet ve Kalkınma Partisi (AK) - Justice and Welfare Party  ; Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi ( CHP ) - Republican People's Party; Dogru Yol Partisi ( DYP ) - True Path Party

Out of the Assembly: Democratic Sol Parti ( DSP ) - Democratic Left Party; Milliyetçi Hareket Partisi ( MHP ) - Nationalist Movement Party; Anavatan Partisi ( ANAP ) - Motherland Party; Saadet Partisi (SP) - Prosperity Party; check from left column... UP


At age 21. UP

State Administration :  

Each of 81 provinces is governed by "Vali" appointed by the Government.  The functions of the provincial local government organizations can be grouped as Health and social insurance, Public works, Culture and Education, Agriculture and animal husbandry, Economic and Commercial functions.

The governor, the representative of the central administration, is also the head of the provincial local government and its chief executive. The governor usually acts in line with the decisions made by the provincial general assembly. UP

Local Administration : 

Every Province has a Municipality Assembly elected by people every five year. The Mayor "Belediye Baskanı" acts as the chief executive and is responsible for the duties. All provinces are divided in to towns "ilce" governed by a public elected mayor "Ilce Belediye Baskanı" and town Assembly. All municipalities are public corporate entities. Municipal organizations must be set up in all provincial and district centers. Besides carrying out duties related to health and social assistance, public works, education, agriculture, the economy and the well-being of its citizens, municipalities are required to take the necessary measures to meet all civic needs. These include municipal services including law enforcement, collection of municipal taxes, duties, fees, and domestic refuge. They also provide drinking water, gas, electricity and public transport facilities.

All towns are divided in to villages "koy" governed by "muhtar" and village Assembly. A village is formed by people living in scattered or closely packed houses with their yards, gardens and land, together with their common property such as a mosque, school or pasture.

A village administration is formed in villages where at least 150 people live. This administration is a corporate entity.

The basic body in the village administration is the Village Assembly composed of villagers over the age of 21. This assembly elects the village headman "Muhtar" for a term of five years. The headman represents the central administration and supervises the planning and operation of village projects and services. UP

Military Forces :

The Military Force is headed by the Chief Executive Orgeneral. In its own system every 5 years the chief executive changes. The Army forces are formed of four major divisions. Kara Kuvvetleri Komutanlıgı (Land forces), Hava kuvvetleri Komutanlıgı (Air Forces), Deniz Kuvvetleri Komutanlıgı (Marine) and the Jandarma Genel Komutamlıgı (Jandarme forces). UP

Military Service

Obligatory for men aged from 18 to 40 for 18 months as soldier. Men graduated from University could select either 8 months as soldier or 15 months as under officers. UP



Information Main